Who will win the Golden Ball at the FIFA World Cup 2018?


The FIFA World Cup 2018 has been one of the most thrilling World Cups in the recent past. There have been wonderful goals, brilliant saves, solid defending and innovative tactics. But one thing missing from the tournament has been standout individual performances. With only 3 more games to go, it is not clear on who is the favorite to win the Golden Ball. Let us take a look at some of the top World Cup players.

N’Golo Kante

If France win the World Cup, then Kante surely must win the Golden Ball as he has been their most consistent player throughout the World Cup. Although it is rare that a defensive midfielder is recognised for his contributions, Kante’s performances have been praised by pundits and fans so far.

Harry Kane

Harry Kane has the chance to win both the Golden Ball and the Golden shoe if England win the World Cup. The last player to win both the awards was in 1990, Italy’s Salvatore Schillaci.

See also  Why this Man United star must start for England in their next game

Luka Modric

If Modric’s Croatia were to win the World Cup then they surely need two stellar performances from their midfield pivot of Modric and Rakitic. If Croatia do go all the way and win the World Cup, then there is no doubt that Modric will bag the golden ball.

The Dark Horse: Eden Hazard 

Although Belgium are out of the tournament, they have been led fantastically well by their captain Eden Hazard. With one more game to go, Hazard can stake a claim to the Golden ball with another superlative performance.

Articles You Might Like

Must Read